Mentorship Project

Through out the semester we have been mentoring many classes. It has been extremely interesting because it has given us the chance to work with students in a different form of learning. This has changed how I have viewed teaching because I have heard about how some students (in highschool and university) take classes online. I thought that this might be difficult but with teachers who work hard to make sure that there is lots of support for the students if they had problems. I found the use of mentoring to be very interesting and can be applied to any classroom if the teacher decided to do so. The reason I find this interesting is because it allows for parents to be able to see what their child is doingand also give extended family a chance to see what the child is up to. Also it allows for children to hear from other studnets who may be doing the similar type of work which will allow for students to compare what they are learning. Two of the classes that I have been mentoring with were Darren Kuropatwa and Leslie Berchard.

Here are a few examples of the comments I posted:

Sylvia
That is a very cool looking witch! You did a very good job a drawing it. Did you have fun trick or treating?
Comment Posted on November 5, 2007 at 10:29 AM by Autumn (mentor)

Samantha
It sounds like you guys have a really good time at swimming lessons! The sportplex is a fun place to go! Whenever I am in Moose Jaw to see my family I try to go swimming there because I absolutely love the water slide!
Comment Posted on October 22, 2007 at 11:19 AM by AutumnF (Mentor)

 Deearly

Autumnf (mentor) said…

The use of spread sheets is really useful. As an upcoming teacher, I have learned that spreadsheets can be extremely useful for keeping track of marks for all the assignments. Have you thought of the different ways that you can use spread sheets beyond banking methods?
26/11/07 10:44 AM  

Kayti

Autumn said…
Payroll deductions sound very interesting to learn about! I don’t remember if I ever learned about any of that when I was in high school. I kind of wish I had so I could understand why it seems like a paycheck should be large but it shrinks from the amount of deductions. Hope your are having fun in class!

29/10/07 11:28 AM

Leave a Reply

