ELNG Assignment

Write about how you feel about yourself as a writer. Do you consider yourself a writer? Why or why not? What particular challenges do you face as a writer? Is it easy for you to think about topics to write about?

I don’t know if I would say that I am a writer or not. I guess since I write on here, it does mean that I am an actual writer. Am I a good writer? I don’t really think I am the absolute awesome kind of one. I have written term paper after term paper and assignment and tests enough times in university and have gotten different types of feed back for everyone of them. English which is not a strong point of mine (I like to read books but I don’t like to write essay’s comparing two books on how they are similar and how they are different) was good and bad for me. My first university english 100 class went well and I say I did fairly decent for trying hard and attempting to figure out Prarie poetry and the meaning they were sending out. On the other hand when I hit English 110 and was told that I was a dyslexic and a poor writer, and questioned how I actually made it to university dampened my spirits on ever thinking I was a good writer (I found out later that this prof has formed her opinion that, that is how everyone is and has quite an ego). What changed me after that horrific english class (which I remarkedly passed) was that I got a 100% (I was absolutely floored) for a sociology term paper. I of course ran up to this english prof slapped it on the desk and screamed “HA I AM SO A GOOD WRITER”, which was kind of not mature but I was happy. I am pretty sure that the one thing that stops me from a writer is that me and grammar, or grammar and I, do not agree with each other. After years of elementary school shoving it into my brain, I do not favor grammar.

Leave a Reply

